European Institute for Counter Terrorism and Conflict Prevention

Basic Research
Causal Research
Reconnaissance and Information
International
Cooperation
Expert pool
Worldwide network

Tolerance is a powerful weapon that can defeat evil no matter how powerful it may be, Diversity is and should always be a source of riches rather than a course of rift and conflict.

Sheik mohamed bin zayed al nahyan
Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi

There is no alternative: we will either build the future together or there will not be a future.

Pope Francis
Interreligious Meeting in Abu Dhabi

News

EICTP Expert Paper: IS communication on the 2020 Vienna terror attack

Shortly after the terror attack in Vienna on 2 November 2020, photographs and videos from eyewitnesses were circulating on social media. Sympathizers of the Islamic State (IS) quickly capitalized on the availability of such material and continued their circulation in Arabic in IS communication channels, like the platform Telegram. Following the typical modus operandi of […]

read more

The ISIS Files. Planting the Seeds of the Poisonous Tree: Establishing a System of Meaning Through ISIS Education.

read more

About Us

Central security policy challenges for Europe

We deal with the central security policy challenges for Europe. A worldwide network of internationally active terrorism and hybrid conflicts are a growing threat. We devote ourselves to in-depth analyses and studies of such uncertainty scenarios and want to actively contribute well-founded strategies and solution scenarios or make the effects of prevention and intervention assessable.

This will contribute to strengthening confidence in public order for a stable, strategic environment for promoting cooperation with European neighbours. The focus is on overcoming intercultural, interreligious conflicts.

We are registered as an association with the name “European Institute for Counter Terrorism and Conflict Prevention”.

We are based in Vienna and are active worldwide. We are an independent, non-partisan and non-profit research institute.

E.I.C.T.P. conducts research on the causes and effects of terrorism and terrorist acts, as well as on suitable ways and means to prevent and combat terrorist activities and groups.

Institute

We are a research institute

The institute aims to add value to confidence-building measures in the area of security and stability. It conducts research projects with partners at home and abroad and cooperates with universities and research institutions.

We conduct public debates and security policy consultations and make our studies available to decision-makers, organisations in politics and business. We seek a dialogue between the parties to the conflict.

Mission

We generate and network our knowledge and insights

We generate and network our knowledge and insights, especially with experts, through profound expert reports and other qualitative publications, and bring together different scientific, intercultural points of view and establish a direct connection to the affected areas and contacts.

We deal with conflicts according to their relevance for European security. We investigate their causes and develop conflict solutions together with relevant actors in the regions concerned, including the development of concrete measures in the crisis regions, taking into account intercultural points of view.

We conduct expert discussions and offer workshops on relevant topics together with our experts as well as the production of publications on the main activities.

Implementation and dissemination of the results of the project.

Sponsors

Opportunities to support our institute as a sponsor

We invite institutions, companies and private individuals to support the work of the institute as sponsors. We would be pleased to inform you about the possibilities and advantages and if you are interested, please contact us.

Europäisches institut für terrorismusbekämpfung und konfliktprävention

Grundlagenforschung
Ursachenforschung
Aufklärung und Information
Internationale Kooperation
Expertenpool
Weltweites Netzwerk

Tolerance is a powerful weapon that can defeat evil no matter how powerful it may be, diversity is and should always be a source of riches rather than a course of rift and conflict.

Scheich mohamed bin zayed al nahyan
Kronprinz von Abu Dhabi

There is no alternative: We will either build the future together or there will not be a future.

Papst Franziskus
Interreligiöses Treffen in Abu Dhabi

Über uns

Sicherheitspolitische Herausforderungen für Europa

Wir beschäftigen uns mit den zentralen sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen für Europa. Ein weltweit vernetzter und international agierender Terrorismus sowie hybride Konflikte stellen eine immer stärkere Bedrohung dar. Wir widmen uns durch eingehende Analysen und Studien solchen Unsicherheitsszenarien und wollen uns aktiv mit fundierten Strategien und Lösungsszenarien einbringen bzw. die Effekte von Prävention und Intervention einschätzbar machen.

Damit verbunden sind Beiträge zur Stärkung des Vertrauens in die öffentliche Ordnung für ein stabiles, strategisches Umfeld für die Förderung der Kooperation mit den europäischen Nachbarn. Dabei steht die Überwindung interkultureller, interreligiöser Konflikte im Vordergrund.

Wir sind als Verein mit dem Namen „Europäisches Institut für Terrorismusbekämpfung und Konfliktprävention“ registriert.

Wir haben den Sitz in Wien und sind weltweit tätig. Wir sind ein unabhängiges, überparteiliches und nicht gewinnorientiertes Forschungsinstitut.

E.I.C.T.P. betreibt Forschung über Ursachen und Auswirkungen von Terrorismus und terroristischer Handlungen, sowie über Wege und Mittel zur Verhinderung bzw. Bekämpfung von terroristischen Aktivitäten und Gruppen.

Institut

Wir sind ein Forschungsinstitut

Das Forschungsinstitut zielt darauf ab, einen Mehrwert an vertrauensbildenden Maßnahmen im Bereich Sicherheit und Stabilität zu schaffen. Es führt Forschungsprojekte mit Partnern im In- und Ausland durch und unterhält Kooperationen mit Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen.

Wir führen öffentliche Debatten und sicherheitspolitische Beratungen durch und stellen unsere Studien für Entscheidungsträger, Organisationen in Politik und Wirtschaft zur Verfügung. Wir bemühen uns um einen Dialog zwischen den Konfliktpartnern.

Mission

Vernetzung von Experten und direkter Bezug zu betroffenen Gebieten.

Unsere Expertise und unsere Erkenntnisse generieren und vernetzen wir insbesondere mit Expertinnen und Experten durch profunden Wissensaustausch, sowie durch die Bereitstellung von qualitativen Publikationen. Wir bringen unterschiedliche wissenschaftliche, interkulturelle Standpunkte zusammen und stellen den direkten Bezug zu betroffenen Gebieten und Kontakten her.

Wir bearbeiten Konflikte nach ihrer Relevanz für die europäische Sicherheit, erforschen ihre Ursachen und entwickeln gemeinsam mit relevanten Akteuren in den betreffenden Regionen Konfliktlösungen inklusive der Erarbeitung konkreter Maßnahmen auch vor Ort in den Krisenregionen, stets unter Berücksichtigung interkultureller Standpunkte.

Wir führen Expertengespräche und bieten mit unseren Expertinnen und Experten Workshops zu relevanten Themen sowie die Erstellung von Publikationen zu den wesentlichen Aktivitäten.

Die Implementierung und Verbreitung der erarbeiteten Projektergebnisse ist Ziel unserer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit.

Förderer

Möglichkeiten unser Institut als Förderer zu unterstützen

Wir laden Institutionen, Firmen und Privatpersonen ein, die Arbeit des Instituts als Förderer zu unterstützen. Über die Möglichkeiten und Vorteile informieren wir Sie sehr gerne und ersuchen Sie bei Interesse mit uns Kontakt aufzunehmen.